Dear Colleagues:

Here are some new resources to explore…

Research Reports/Other Learning Content

How COVID-19 is Deepening Inequalities Across U.S Cities

As more demographic and geographic data is collected on who is contracting coronavirus, indicators show that significant structural inequalities have only been exacerbated by this public health crisis. Prosperity Now’s local Scorecard data highlights the fragile state of some hot spot areas prior to the crisis and shows why these areas are more vulnerable to the economic and health effects of the pandemic. Read more.

 

Webinars/Event Opportunities

Cash Infusions: Stability now, Security Later

Wednesday, May 13 | 1pm ET/12pm CT/11am MT/10am PT

Register

The Aspen Institute Financial Security Program has been studying cash infusions in partnership with direct service providers, summarized in a forthcoming series of briefs around the evidence for, innovations in, and effects of cash infusions on family financial well-being. Join the Aspen Institute for a digital conversation that will highlight the various ways policymakers, funders, nonprofits, and business leaders are proposing getting more money into the hands of people and why they believe that approach is essential to the financial security of families – both now and beyond this crisis.

 

Funding/Collaboration Opportunities

Summer Food Service Program

The Summer Food Service Program (SFSP) was created to ensure that children in lower-income areas could continue to receive nutritious meals during long school vacations, when they do not have access to school lunch or breakfast. The program offers funding on a per-meal basis to organizations who provide meals to low-income children during the summer. Applications accepted on an ongoing basis. Read more.