Dear Colleagues:

Here are some new resources to explore… 

 

Research Reports/Other Learning Content

Why Coronavirus Could Hit Rural Areas Harder

As rates of coronavirus (COVID-19) infection and death continue to rise, it is important to consider how rural areas may be affected. On the one hand, rural parts of the U.S. may be comparatively better off than urban places due to lower population density in rural areas. On the other hand, there are several features of rural populations and places that increase their risk of coronavirus-related mortality and other long-term health impacts. Read more from Syracuse University’s Lerner Center for Public Health Promotion.

 

Strategies and Challenges in Feeding Out-of-School Students

In response to school closures because of the COVID-19 pandemic, the nation’s school nutrition programs have transformed into emergency community feeding systems, delivering meals to out-of-school students, their families, and in many districts, other members of the community. Read more from the Urban Institute.

 

Webinars/Event Opportunities

 

Race, Economy, and COVID-19: How America’s Race Problem Exacerbated the Crisis – A Book Talk with Eduardo Porter

April 29, 2020 | 2pm ET/1pm CT/12pm MT/11am PT | Register

Available data suggests the economic and human cost of the COVID 19 crisis will be profound. And these costs will not be borne equitably. Our long-standing divides by class, race, and ethnicity are widening as the coronavirus has a disproportionate impact on workers in low-wage jobs and communities of color. Join this discussion with the Aspen Institute and author Eduardo Porter.