Dear Colleagues:

Here are some new resources to explore…

 

Research Reports/Other Learning Content

Bringing the Vital Conditions to Life: Reliable Transportation

Community Commons discusses the connection between public health and access to reliable transportation. This article overviews a case study of the Greenville Transit Authority in South Carolina and how they were able to enhance transportation services offered to low-income residents. Read more here.

Supporting Kinship Caregivers Through the Family First Prevention Services Act

Studies show that young people do best in families, and that healthy relationships are key to their development and long-term stability. The Family First Act emphasizes greatly reducing group care and better supporting young people and their families. The Annie E. Casey Foundation provides a range of resources to help kinship caregivers better respond to the needs of kids. Read more here.

Improving Measures of Housing Insecurity: A Path Forward

This paper from the Urban Institute summarizes the available measures and data sources for understanding housing insecurity in the U.S., including measures of homelessness, housing cost burden, substandard housing, overcrowding and residential instability. It uses the creation of the Core Food Security Module as a model to understand the possible benefits of a standard scale of housing insecurity and the process for creating one. Read more here.

 

Webinars/Event Opportunities

Head Start Count All Kids Webinar

February 6, 2020 12pm PT/1pm MT/2pm CT/3pm ET

Mark your calendars now! Join the National Head Start Association and Count All Kids for a webinar focused on how we can make sure all children in America are counted in the 2020 Census. Register here.

Evaluating Systems Change Efforts: Where to Start

February 28, 2020 10am PT/11am MT/12pm CT/1pm ET

Join FSG and the Collective Impact Forum for a webcast discussion with Hallie Preskill and Joelle Cook who lead FSG’s Strategic Learning and Evaluation practice, as we delve into how evaluating system change is different from evaluating programs, and talk about some of the core evaluation principles needed when advancing systems change work. Register here.

 

Funding/Collaboration Opportunities

FY 2020 Day of Service Grants

Through AmeriCorps, Senior Corps, and the Volunteer Generation Fund, CNCS has helped to engage millions of citizens in meeting community and national challenges through service and volunteer action. The Day of Service grant competition includes funding for both September 11th Day of Service and Remembrance (September 11th) and Martin Luther King Jr. Day of Service (MLK). Applications are due March 25, 2020. Read more here.