Select Page

2020 Virtual Annual Convention

August 24 – 28
During this convention, we will come together online to showcase our strengths, strategies, and achievements. We’ll also share our best practices in management, program implementation, and capacity building. There is change ahead of us—for the better—as Community Action evolves, reinvents, and continues to achieve excellence.

Congratulations, Game Winners!

The Partnership is excited to announce the game winners for this year’s Annual Convention! Click here to see who won!

Thank You for Attending!

Update! Thank you for attending the 2020 Virtual Annual Convention! Session recordings will be made available to all attendees starting Thursday, September 10.

Our Virtual Convention is Safe and Convenient

Virtual conferences offer new and exciting opportunities for you! From the comfort of your own home, you can watch as many sessions as you want on a schedule that’s convenient for you. You’ll never miss another session due to overcrowded rooms or a confusing hotel layout. Digital networking puts you in touch with every attendee, allowing you to increase your connections with new colleagues through the app, event platform, and social media! All sessions are recorded so you will never miss a thing due to concurrent timing.  We are excited to bring this new virtual experience to you!

Questions? Email us at registration@communityactionpartnership.comInterested in advertising, exhibition, or sponosorship opportunities? Click here.

Over 70 Sessions

With more than 70 sessions to attend, there are substantial opportunities for learning, engagement, and inspiration for everyone in Community Action. To help you identify the best sessions for you, we sorted them into tracks and attendee groups.

Convention Tracks

Our tracks are designed specifically to give you a well-rounded array of sessions from experts in those areas. The tracks we offer are:

Timely Topics: NEW!
Community Action Essentials: NEW!
• Management: Effective Administration and Governance
• In the Field: Performance at the Front Line
• Strategies: Promising Anti-Poverty Practices
• Advocacy: Research, Policy, and Action
• Communications: Strategies to Increase Visibility

Attendee Groups

Please check back soon to view sessions according to your position in Community Action.

Registration

Registration is easy and convenient online! Whether your agency is a paid member of the Partnership or not, all attendees receive the same benefits including access to all sessions, session recordings, the event app, and event materials. We’ll even mail you the convention welcome packet including the official event program book, branded tote bag, branded notebook, and more!

Featured Speakers

Every year at our convention, we gather experts from all around the country to share their wisdom, advice, and experience with you and your fellow attendees. These speakers come from a variety of organizations like government, private nonprofit, and of course, Community Action agencies! Read on to learn more about this year’s experts.
Tuesday, August 25 @ 2pm ET  |  1pm CT  |  12pm MT  |  11am PT

The Three Doctors

Sampson Davis, MD; Ramek Hunt, MD; George Jenkins, MD

Thursday, August 27 @ 12pm ET  |  11am CT  |  10am MT  |  9am PT

Denise Fairchild Ph.D.

President & CEO, Emerald Cities Collective

Tuesday, August 25 @ 11am ET  |  10am CT  |  9am  MT  |  8am PT

Vu Le

Writer, Speaker, Former Executive Director of RVC Seattle

Thursday, August 27 @ 12pm ET  |  11am CT  |  10am MT  |  9am PT

Tyson Slocum

Director, Energy Program, Public Citizen

Testimonials

Program Book

Sessions for the 2020 Virtual Annual Convention have been finalized and the Program Book is now available. Inside you’ll get a preview of what you can expect at the 2020 Virtual Annual Convention. Get a detailed schedule of events, see what General Sessions are happening, read workshop descriptions for all of our Concurrent Sessions, and begin planning out your day!

2020 App Guide

The app lets you access workshop materials, schedules, speaker bios, and your fellow attendees! You can post pictures and comments, and engage on social media, all through the app. Use event code CAP20 to access.

Click here to download the 2020 App Guide.

OMB Uniform Guidance

During this one-day training workshop participants will learn about the Uniform Guidance regulations and, more important, how to implement them in their organization. Review the regulations you need to know to stay in compliance through examples, stories, and best practices learned from years of auditing and consulting. Take back up-to-date and relevant information to implement immediately in your agency. 
 
Partnership members are eligible for a registration discount. The discount allows for a $325 early bird registration rate and a $450 regular registration rate. E-mail registration@communityactionpartnership.com to receive the discount code.
 
Click here to learn more and register.

Our Sponsors

Mutual of America
WIPFLi CPAs and Consultants
Pacific Northwest Community Action Association
JMT Consultant Group
Federal Home Loan Bank of Des Moines
Capital One